Looking Forward to 2012

Rather than reflecting much on the past year, my mind is already reaching ahead, excited by the possibilities that 2012 holds. Here are a few things I plan to do in the coming months.

1. Complete unfinished projects and start some new ones. Last year, I concentrated on getting better at knitting (i.e. being able to knit at all). This year, I’d love to develop my embroidery skills.

2. Go to the theatre. I particularly want to see this and this. A real highlight of 2011 was seeing Richard III at the Old Vic – a truly fabulous production (if you are in New York, you have the chance to see it here from January 2012  – do go, Kevin Spacey’s performance is quite awe-inspiring).

3. Visit some new-to-me restaurants and cafes. Described as a ‘kind of Jewish deli with cocktails,’ Mishkin’s sounds like my kind of place. A Moroccan afternoon tea might be rather fun, and the cakes here and here certainly sound worth sampling.

4. Work my way through my TBR pile which includes: Bleak House (2012 marks the bicentenary of Dickens’ birth so I feel now is a good opportunity to read more of his novels); For Whom the Bell Tolls; Quiet: the Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking and Greenbanks. These should keep me going on my daily London overground commute to work.

David Hockney, 'Woldgate Woods, 21, 23 & 29 November 2006', 2006. Oil on 6 canvases. 182 x 366 cm. Courtesy of the Artist. © David Hockney. Photo credit: Richard Schmidt

5. See some art. I am particularly looking forward to the David Hockney exhibition at the Royal Academy of Arts.

Well, it seems to me that if all goes to plan 2012 should be off to a pretty good start!

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward to 2012

  1. I am on a Dickensian mission this year too. Bleak House is great, have you seen the adaptation with Gillian Anderson and Anna Maxwell Martin? It’s very good.

    I am also looking forward to Hockney. Apart from the amazing art aspect the colours will be very welcome in this gloomy winter!

    • I did see the adaptation and loved it. Am really looking forward to reading the novel. You’re right, some bright colours would be very welcome in this grey and white weather!

Leave a Reply

